Department Banner

EXTENDED OPPORTUNITY PROGRAMS AND SERVICES (EOPS)

Celebrating over 45 years of serving students and families in our communities since 1969.

 

Mission Statement

Extended Opportunity Programs & Services (EOPS) at El Camino College is dedicated to the delivery of a comprehensive program that encourages the enrollment, retention and transfer of students who are challenged by language, social, economic, and educational disadvantages.

EOPS is designed for the sole purpose of enhancing the success of students in meeting their educational goals and objectives. As a comprehensive program, EOPS is driven by a philosophy of providing services that are “over and above in addition to” services available to all students. EOPS strives for innovative and creative ways to enhance and encourage students’ academic success and excellence, while fostering the student’s personal growth and development.

                              
 
EOPS facing the future together

Program Legacy

EOPS was established in 1969, amidst the struggle for civil rights and racial equality. Students and community activists held demonstrations to protest the under-representation of minorities and low-income students in higher education. In response to the social and political pressure, the state of California passed Senate Bill 164 and amended the Title 5 regulations, to authorize community colleges to develop the EOPS program for the purpose of supporting economically and educationally disadvantaged students in the community college system.

Since then, EOPS has been operating under the philosophy that everyone has the potential to learn. Necessary support and retention activities were developed to include intensive bilingual counseling, assistance in applying for financial aid, tutoring, summer enrichment and retention programs, book services, emergency loans and special orientations.

 

Attention to all Students…

We are no longer accepting applications for Spring 2016.

If you would like to join EOPS for Fall 2016, please fill out an EOPS Interest Form and turn in to SSC-203. An Outreach representative from the EOPS office will contact you before April 25, 2016 when applications for Fall 2016 become available.

ECC Student Support Services Division

Student Services Building

Rooms 201 - 203

View Campus Map

 

Contact Information

Administration (310) 660-3466

Counseling (310) 660-3464

Tutoring (310) 660-7088

Outreach (310) 660-3007

eops@elcamino.edu

 

Hours of Operation

Monday          8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday         8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday     8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
Thursday        8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Friday            9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Staff Information

Ngozi Akosia
nakosia@elcamino.edu

Brenda Alvarez
balvarez@elcamino.edu

David Brown
dmbrown@elcamino.edu

Sandy Carbajal
scarbajal@elcamino.edu

Valerie Doby
vdoby@elcamino.edu

Peggy Ginocchio
pginocch@elcamino.edu

Anna Brochet
abrochet@elcamino.edu

Linda Massarotti
lmassaro@elcamino.edu

Regina Robinson
rrobinso@elcamino.edu

Dexter Vaughn
dvaughn@elcamino.edu

Claudia Velazquez
cvelazquez@elcamino.edu

Karen Weber
kweber@elcamino.edu

 Last Published 2/8/16