Readings/Assignments

Chapter and Sections (x.x) refer to the Hurley Text. Your work will be done either in class or online, as follows:

CWx = Classwork; done and submitted in class. 25 points each.
HWx = Homework; accessed and submitted through our class website at Thomson Now: http://west.ilrn.com/ilrn/authentication/welcome.do.* All homeworks are due by 11:30 pm of their due dates; your lowest homework grade will be dropped. 30 points each.
Quiz = Taken and submitted in class; have 5 Scantron forms ("Mini Essay" forms #_____________) for taking these quizzes throughout the semester. Your lowest quiz grade (Orientation Quiz excepted, which requires only the smallest 10-question scantron form) will be dropped. 40 points each.

Note: some assignments may fall on or near religious or family-related national holidays. Please review this syllabus carefully for any possible conflict with your religious or holiday plans. All requests for accomodation must be made in advance, by Tuesday, March 4.

Week/Date
Chapter/Sections
Assignments
Notes
 
Module 1 - The Basics of Arguments
1/Feb 12
1.1
none this week  
2/Feb 19
1.2
Quiz 1 (Thurs, Feb 21; meet in ArtB306)
HW1 (Sun, Feb 24)

Quiz: Orientation and Logistics - 10 pts
HW1: Arguments and non-arguments; premise and conclusion
- 30 pts
Last day to drop w/full refund: Feb 22

   
Labor Day Holiday: Sept 3
3/Feb 26
1.3& 1.4
CW1 (Thurs, Feb 28)
HW2 (Sun, Mar 2)
CW1: Argument Structure - 25 pts
HW2: Deduction and Induction - 30 pts
4/Mar 4 1.5 Quiz 2 (Thurs, Mar 6) Quiz: Chapter 1 Summary - 40 pts
 

 

Module 2 - Propositional Logic

5/Mar 11
6.1
HW3 (Sun, Mar 16) HW3: Translation for Propositional Logic - 30 pts
Last day to drop with "NG": March 7
6/Mar 18
6.2 - 6.3
Quiz 3 (Thurs, Mar 20)  Quiz 3: Propositions and Truth Tables - 40 pts
7/Mar 25
6.4 - 6.5
CW2 (Tues, Mar 25)
HW4
(Sun, Mar 30)
CW2: Translations - 25 pts
HW4: Propositions and Full Truth Tables - 30 pts
No Class - Thursday, March 27
8/Apr 1
6.6; 7.1 - 7.2
Quiz 4 (Thurs, Apr 3) Quiz 4: Chapter 6 Summary - 40 pts
9/April 15
7.3 - 7.4
CW3 (Thurs, Apr 17) CW3: Deductions - 25 pts
10/Apr 22
7.5 - 7.6
Quiz 5 (Thurs, Apr 24)
HW5
(Sun, Apr 27)
Quiz 5: Take-Home Deductions - 40 pts
HW5: Propositional Logic Summary - 30 pts
 

 

Module 3 - Categorical Logic

11/Apr 29
4.1 - 4.3
HW6 (Sun, May 4) HW6: Propositions and Their Diagrams - 30 pts
12/May 6   none this week
   
Last day to drop with "W": May 9
13/May 13
4.4 - 4.7
HW7 (Sun, May 18) HW7: Operations and Diagrams - 30 pts
14/May 20
5.1 - 5.2
Quiz 6 (Thurs, May 22)  Venn Diagrams and Translations - 40 pts
   
15/May 27
5.3 - 5.4
 HW8 (Sun, June 1) Syllogisms, Rules and Fallacies - 30 pts 
16/June 3
no new readings
 Portfolio due in class (Mon, 12-10))  All Topics - 80 pts

 

Grade Scale**
A: 535 - 481 (90%) C: 427 - 347 (65%)
B: 480 - 428 (80%) D: 346 - 267 (506%)

* Note: you will need to first access and register to our class website at http://www.thomsonedu.com/login before you can access your homeworks. There will be one class session (Thurs, Feb 21, in ArtB 306) devoted to ensuring that all students have access to our class website. After this class session, I will assume that you have access to your required assignments.

** Grade Scale accounts for drop of lowest HW (30) and lowest Quiz (40) grades.