Department Banner


The Division of Fine Arts provides a comprehensive lower division curriculum for Fine Arts majors preparing to transfer to four-year universities. Courses help students develop their talents and skills in interpretive and creative expression while completing general education transfer requirements, vocational and career technical training and certification, certificates and degrees. The division is comprised of seven departments: Art, Dance, Film/Video, Music, Photography, Communication Studies, and Theatre.

Fine Arts faculty members remain active in their professions and are recognized as part of the thriving Los Angeles art scene, bringing vitality and inspiration to the El Camino classroom. Extensive facilities are designed to maximize student success and include technologically-advanced computer and photo labs, a metal foundry, spacious studios, numerous practice rooms, and an extensive music library.

For course syllabi, please contact the division office.

For department information on Fine Arts programs and faculty, please click on the departments below.

Art      Communication Studies      Dance     Film/Video     Music     Photography      Theatre

The Center for the Arts supports the instructional program of the division and enriches the cultural life of the campus and surrounding communities by presenting Resident and Guest Artist performances, theatre productions, recitals, debates, Speakers Forums, student productions, master classes, workshops, and lectures in three campus venues: The Marsee Auditorium, the Campus Theatre, and the Haag Recital Hall.

The Art Gallery is an important part of the cultural landscape of the South Bay, attracting many outside visitors to the campus each year. It is free and open to the public and offers a valuable opportunity to students and interested community members to explore and experience contemporary and historical works of art from many cultures. The gallery features six exhibitions a year, showcasing outstanding works by students, faculty, and local artists.


Constance Fitzsimons, Dean

Diane L. Hayden, Associate Dean

Patricia Amezcua, Administrative Assistant

Aretha Collins, Program Specialist

Deborah Kyte, Senior Clerical Assistant


The Fine Arts Division Office
is located in the Music Building, room 101
campus map

Telephone: (310) 660-3715
Office Hours: Monday-Friday 7:45am - 4:30pm

CLOSED December 24, 2013 - Jan. 1, 2014

Fine Arts Counselors:
Griselda Castro – (310) 660-3593 x 3403
Counseling Services


 Last Published 12/11/13